Tuesday Session

To start the session off we began with a challenge,

Marshmallow challenge: Create a structure from 20 spaghetti strands, 1 yard of tape and string. Balance the marshmallow on top to win, The structure began by making a structured pyramid and then straight up for the final stretch. We had to distribute the weight of the marshmallow so we used the string to pull the opposite way the marshmallow was pulling in order to make it a tall structurally sound structure. We found as a team that this was a relatively easy to build the structure because we had previously done tasks similar to this in BSc Product Design lectures, however when it came to putting the marshmallow on the structure only just held, when told afterwards we found that research into this showed that adults do something similar by making a tall structure but it not actually being able to hold the marshmallow where as children create a prototype approach to the challenge and test the marshmallow at each level.

 Afterwards we looked at things that we found to be creative things to do and then number them corresponding to how creative they are. This was my list below with 5 being the most creative.Marshmallow challenge

 examples of play:

Imagining 4

Lego 5

Gaming 3

drawing 4

listening to music 2

sport 1

This list was my choices and things that I found creative and I realised the things I like to do most when designing or just having fun. I realised that Building or prototyping and making things was something I enjoyed more than the other areas.

 Thursday session

In the morning I watched a ted talk on play and creativity by Tim Brown in which he explains play and creativity in the workplace and looking at the link between children being more creative than adults because of their exploratory play.In the talk he makes the audience do very similar tasks to the ones we did in last weeks sessions and the reactions between the audience and us were nearly the same and I found this interesting in the video because we are all educated the exact same even though this audience is from a different country and I thought that what if there is a way to educate children differently?

In the afternoon I chose to take part in a creativity task in which I had to changea formation of glasses on the table into another formation with only one movement of the glasses. I completed the task (I took way too long for something simple) and once I figured it out I just laughed because for something so simple, I was telling my self that this experiment was difficult and I overthought every challenge I did, looking at other objects on the table or if the wording in the question could be interpreted differently. My summary from this was that I had overthought a task so simple and I needed to apply this to my practice in design.

This quote I found to be the most interesting in the session today: play requires both boundaries (order, harmony) and the impulse to cross them (chaos, growth).

